Gherand Samhita- The seven limbs to attain meditative consciousness - Notes from my Self Study

नास्ति माया सम पसो नास्ति योगात् परम् बलम् ।
न हि ज्ञानात् परो बन्धुर् नहम्कारात् परो रिपु ॥

There are no fetters like those of Illusion (Maya), 
No strength like that which comes from discipline (Yoga),
There is no friend higher than knowledge (Jnana),
And no greater than Egoism (Ahankara)

The actual meaning of Yoga nowadays is known rare in the world. The base of these practices arise from these texts that altogether form the foundation of Samadhi, and without knowledge you cannot even keep the first step in the path of Yoga:. That's why most of the teachers and yoga institutes have just become cash earning machines without giving proper guidance and light in these aspects of life. 

During my study of Yogic Science, I personally realized the power carried by these texts, The Hatha Yoga Pradipika, Shiva Samhita and Gheranda Samhita, these classical texts resembles a nectar to the universal cosmic power, as these imbibe within them the wisdom of ancient Yoga Sutras, that really have the capability to make human race an intelligent and conscious beings on this planet.

-Tanmay Bhati

State of Meditation

The Gheranada Samhita

The Gheranda Samhita, which has 351 slokas and 7 chapters, is something that should be followed and is frequently followed when one is on the path of yoga. The dialogue between Maharishi Gheranda and Chanda is taught in a manuscript from the latter half of the 17th century. My methods are closely related to this. Both the Gheranda Samhita and the Patanjali Yoga Sutras have been studied for their similarities to the human body and mind as well as to the route to bliss. They are both widely practised and taught today.

It is Hinduism's primary text on yoga in Sanskrit. Gheranada Samhita is one of the three scriptures of classical Hatha Yoga practice, together with Shiva Samhita and Hatha Yoga Pradipika.

The Gheranda Samhita states that the preparation of the body comes before the preparation of the mind. Only a healthy body can support a healthy mind. As a result, Raja Yoga, often known as the training of the mind, comes after Hatha Yoga, which is the practice of mental training. Hatha is a Sanskrit word that means "hard" or "the practise of toughness. As opposed to this, Raja can be translated as "royal," "soft," "training in royal graces," or "mental discipline."


The Seven limbs of Gherand Samhita are:

 Chapters Limbs Resources or Sapt-sadhanTypes & Techniques 
Chapter 1     
 Complete Body Cleansing/Internal & External   Explains Six Cleansing Techniques
Chapter 2       Asana Body Strengthening/Firm Solidity Explains 32 postures
Chapter 3    Mudra Body Steadying/Stability Includes 25 Mudras/Gestures
Chapter 4Pratyahara Control over Senses/Patience Explains 5 Concentration Techniques
Chapter 5 Pranayama Inner Lightness/Buoyancy Includes 10 Breathing Techniques
Chapter 6Dhyana Inner Perception Through Meditation techniques
Chapter 7Samadhi Self Liberation & Bliss Complete isolation techniques other than explains 

Chapter 1 - Shatkarma (shatkarna-shodhan)

In essence, it entails cleaning both the inside and outside of your entire body. The text illustrates a total of six techniques. The correction (shodhan kriya) of both interior and external bodily components requires the utmost attention.

Chapter 2 - Asana (asana-dradhta)

One develops firmness, solidity, and persistence while doing asanas (i.e., various postures). According to recent studies, asana enhances steadiness, flexibility, strength, stability, and balance while also reducing stress and curing ailments like diabetes and asthma.

Chapter 3 - Mudrae (mudra-sthirta)

In these books, "mudra"—also known as gestures or hand motions—are essentially ceremonies that support maintaining a steady mind and body. You gain steadiness by doing several rituals (symbolic hand movements).

Chapter 4 - Pratyahara (pratyahara-dherya)

The term "pratyahara" means mastery of the senses. As a result, practise teaches you how to control your senses, which will finally make you a Dheryawaan (patient being).

Chapter 5 - Pranayama (pranayama-laaghvam)

Pranayama is also known as energy regulation. Since Ayama is "control," and Prana is the "life force or vital energy," breathing is similar to both. Pranayama exercises help the body become lighter and more buoyant.

Chapter 6 - Dhyana (dhyan-pratyaksh)

Simply said, the word "Dhyan" implies to give something your full attention. Something becomes visible, plain, and obvious when we give it our whole attention. Through regular meditation practise, this condition can be obtained.

Chapter 7 - Samadhi (samadhi-nirliptata)Samadhi"

Also known as "Meditative Consciousness," "Samadhi" So it is believed that Samadhi is the means by which you attain Nirliptata, also known as Detachment. You can become "Samadhi" and become one with the "Ultimate One" by becoming isolated from the rest of the universe.

    Since Adiyogi, Shiva has bestowed upon us the realms of yoga and its power. Shiva was the first yogi. Numerous saints and yogis developed and portrayed techniques and practices using their own concepts and words. They all helped us realise how closely these Asanas resemble the cosmic reality found in nature. We can finally attain anything we want in life, but only if we are aware of them.

-Tanmay Bhati

(In this article, I just articulated a brief of Gheranda Samhita, and its Chapters. But in the coming journey of Yogic Cosmos, I will describe each aspect separately and in a more refined form. It's a completely new world). 

Other Articles From Yogacosmicscience:

14. The Anatomy of Sushumna Nadi.

15. Nuances of Yoga

16. Sattva Rajas Tamas.

17. Pranayama form Heart and Related Research.

18. Can I see the seven chakras physically and what are the associated frequencies with each chakra? 

19. Awareness is the key: how consciously we deal with yogic practices to increase awareness.

20. Physiology of a Child's Brain: The First Parenting Lesson is to Observe Them


Popular posts from this blog

Trividha Nadi's - Ida, Pingala and Sushumna

Anahad Naad (An Unstruck Sound)

Energy and Kundalini

The Nine "Nau" Nidhi's (नौ निधि): Divine Treasures and their Scientific Significance